The agenda and hotel information for the Executive Board Meeting in San Jose August 23-25 are posted on .

The Rural Caucus will be meeting that Friday August 23 at 4:15pm in the Fir Room of the Doubletree (second level).  Our primary goals for this meeting include:

  • Discussion on actions needed to address the fire insurance crisis. Insurance Commissioner Ricardo Lara will be there to speak with this on this urgent matter.
  • Submit updates to the Rural Plank for the 2020  CDP Platform. Note: The Party Platform will be finalized at the Long Beach Convention in November 2019.
  • Secure the outcome of the Resolutions we passed at Convention. Note that timely Resolutions to the CDP are DUE July 24, but “late submissions” are still being accepted.
  • Ratify small edits to our bylaws.

Suggested reading July 31 article by Mark Arax in the California Sunday Magazine about Paradise. “Gone: Decades of greed, neglect, corruption, and bad politics led to last year’s Paradise fire, the worst in California history. It should never have happened. It will happen again.”