Rural Caucus Elections

When is the election:

CDP Rural Caucus Meeting on Friday, May 31, 2019

Meeting starts at 4:45 pm – Please arrive early. Credentialing begins at 4:15 pm, the doors will open at 4:30 pm

Moscone Center – 747 Howard St., San Francisco, CA 94103

Convention Center Rooms 204/205

Click here to see the full Convention Agenda


Who can vote:

All Rural Caucus Members* in good standing may vote in the election.  Members must be credentialed at the door.  Members may pay at door and be verified at the same time. To streamline the process, please join today.

Please note, all Caucus members are welcome at the Caucus meetings and do not need to be full convention attendees in order to attend the caucus meetings.

*Qualifications for membership include: All persons who are (i) registered Democrats , pursuant to the laws of the State of California, or (ii) ineligible to register as Democrats due to Election Code, but who have expressed an intent to register as a Democrat upon becoming eligible are eligible for membership in This Caucus, have an interest in identifying rural issues and promoting rural Democratic values of California, subscribe to the purposes of the Rural Caucus and have paid dues, or has had dues waived, shall be a “Member in Good Standing” with full voting rights.


Who can run:

All candidates must submit their completed and signed nomination form to the Secretary of The Caucus by the “DEADLINE” (Sunday, May 12, 2019 at midnight) 20 days in advance of the Regular Election, along with a Certification of their Delegate Membership in the Democratic State Central Committee when required for the position to which they are applying.  When the deadline has passed, any filing after the 20-day deadline is referred to as a “Nomination from the Floor” and the verified eligible nominee is referred to as a “WRITE-IN” whose write-in name on the ballot may be considered a valid vote.

To see a list of current candidates, click here.

For more information, please refer to our Bylaws and Election Procedures.

Mike Smith, Election Official